We’ve Come a Long Way, Baby?

Here’s an article that I came upon a while ago that I had posted about for my class Girlpower1; but considering its relevance to my recent “Measuring Self-Worth” post, i only think it’s appropriate that I move it here:

This is really an interesting piece- It talks about the Women’s Movement and its rise and fall as well as how it is viewed and portrayed in society today. Rothenberg also touches upon the female empowerment and about her observation of young girls wearing t-shirts that say things like “As long as I can be on top”, “Bitch”, “Dirty Girl”… etc. I found it to be helplful in understanding what I posted about in “Measuring Self-Worth”. Even though it does raise some interesting issues and points on the matter, it leaves me pondering if Rothenberg actually proposes a solution. So if you have some time, please read it and let me know what you think – it’s very insightful. 🙂

Snatched from the Jaws of Victory – Feminism Then and Now

Leave a Reply

